Braised Short Ribs | Slow Cooker Edition

It’s so cold outside! These short ribs braised in a deep red wine creates a luscious and comforting sauce that I know you all will enjoy for the winter. Let’s get started!

Here’s what we need:

Season beef short ribs (2lbs) with:

1 Tbsp adobo

1/2 tsp master salt

1 tsp prime rib seasoning

1tsp onion power

1/2 tsp of cayenne

1/2 tsp 21 Seasoning Salute (any Italian seasoning or herbs de province)

We also need:

1 cup red wine (a merlot or a cabernet)

2/3 cup of beef stock

1 whole medium yellow onion thinly sliced

1 cup of sliced carrots (slice on a diagonal)

1/3 cup of vegetable oil

1/4 tsp crushed red pepper

1/2 tsp garlic paste

Let’s go ahead and heat up our oil in a cast iron skillet. You guys already know in MY home cast iron is queen LOL! I heated the oil on medium high just until the oil starts to smoke.

We’re ready to place the short ribs into the pan and brown on both sides. I look for a dark golden brown. We like to do this because it gives the beef extra flavor. Also, I like for my seasoning to stay on my meat when cooking it in liquid.

Once the beef is browned on all sides place them into the slow cooker. Then pour all of the oil out of the pan. You will notice that after searing your short ribs that there is quite a bit of oil in the pan. This happens because short ribs are generally a fatty meat. Be sure to reserve about 1/4 cup of the pan drippings.

Let’s add our thinly sliced onions into the pan along with those pan drippings. Go ahead and turn the pan down to medium heat. I like to let the onions take on the color of the pan drippings. Let them soak up all the flavor. Cook them until they become translucent and then add your carrots.

At this point go ahead and season the onions and carrots to taste with seasoned salt & black pepper and then add your crushed red pepper and garlic paste. Let the ingredients sauté and marry for about 5 minutes.

Lastly we will deglaze the pan with the red wine and beef stock. Let the mixture simmer for about 5 minutes. Then add everything to your crockpot. I put my crockpot on low and let it go over night. The sauce reduces quite a bit creating a velvety and comforting taste.

I hope you guys enjoy this recipe! Let me know on Instagram what you’ll be having with your short ribs. I had mine with creamy grits. I believe some of you may really enjoy that combination. I love you all and as always sending lots of moxie your way.

-Roxy

One thought on “Braised Short Ribs | Slow Cooker Edition

Leave a comment